Food for thought on a day of firsts:First day/First grade #dadstalking

Img_0327

Do kids remember more now than when we were kids? I remember very little about first grade in general but I feel like Sam will remember more of this kind of stuff. Maybe it’s all the hullabaloo. I don’t remember there being much fanfare with my back to school days and don’t think any photos were taken of any first day other than kindergarten – and my parents are shutterbugs. Or at least my dad is, my mom would rather live life than document it.

Maybe that explains it. My dad couldn’t miss work for first day of school which meant no photos which means no memories. So maybe it seems like kids remember more because we – living in a digital future – will take pictures for anything – it’s so easy, right? Cameraphones and all… But then are we remembering events or photos about events and is that the same? Food for thought on a day of firsts.

Leave a Reply

