Could You Practice Zen Web Content Navigation? If so, I might follow you…

Every now and then a word pops into my head and won’t go away.

Sometimes for an hour or a week, most often a day. Sometimes the word is real and familiar, sometimes I’m not sure. Most times it resonates in my head so loud few other words can drown it out. Yesterday it was CENTRALYSIS.

When a word like this pops into my head so completely, I feel obliged to follow what might be a thread of interconnected-ness and do a little sleuthing. Call it my need to know…

Dirk Gently

Dirk Gently is my hero

Yes, that’s right – centralysis.

Was it a real word? I didn’t know. Did that make it less resonant inside my head? Absolutely not.

It felt like a real word when I said it out loud, but nobody I asked had ever heard of it before.

Anyway, I googled it and came up with a few interesting links.

First, a listing for a book about national defense that actually looks really interesting and I never would have stumbled on it had this word popped into my head randomly.

It seems in this case, the use of the word has to do with state monopolies or some such.

“Myth of National Defense: Essays on the Theory and History of Security”

The other thing that I found was a technical document in Russian that also looks really cool and I want to read it – though I most likely won’t fully understand it. It appeals deeply to my science-fiction habit.

Homogeneous centralysis by transition-metal complexes
EW Abel ; FGA Stone ; M. Bochmann
Journal: Organometallic Chemistry

All this reminds me of Dirk Gently & “Zen Navigation.”

“I rarely end up where I was intending to go but I often end up somewhere I needed to be…”

I think I often find serendipity in my searches online this way.

There are moments in my online research that call for the standardized linear structure of a search engine, and then there are those moments when we simply must explore. Those are regularly the most satisfying for me.

When I look for a trusted curator – someone to “follow” in social media who will add things to my “feed” – I look for someone who clearly does a little exploring every now and then, even if I don’t know them at all. What about you? Do you only follow people you know? Do you like to explore?

“Pick someone who looks like they know where they are going…”

That’s why I like following trusted curators of interesting content online, they often may lead me where I needed to be.

Leave a Reply

